There’s No Place Like Home

13 Dec

I’m super obsessed with houses and home decor right now. It’s probably because I’m married now and I’m done being obsessed with wedding related things…so it was only natural that I move onto married things like houses. My television is almost always on HGTV and I’m blowing up my Pinterest boards with home decor ideas. It will be some time before I own my own home, but I’m already so excited to remodel/decorate my future house. At this point, I’d really just be excited to live in an apartment where I’m allowed to paint the walls. This white dungeon is awful.

I’ve never really had a particular ‘style,’ but I guess if I had to describe what I like it would be ‘rustic industrial chic with a hint of traditional.’ I’m really into vintage and repurposed things. I love the idea of taking something old and using it for a different purpose than it was intended for or adding something to it to give a slightly contemporary look. I’ve never actually done any of these things, but I love the idea of doing them when I have time, money and a place to put them.

I have an image of what my dream house would look like, and if you’ve ever seen Dear Genevieve on HGTV–it’s pretty much anything that Genevieve Gorder designs on that show. I’ve put together a list of wants for my dream house, and it’s kind of long and random, but it’s what I like so, take a gander…

  • Hardwood floors throughout entire house-dark—maybe herringbone–love reclaimed woods
  • Exposed brick or stone
  • Exposed beams/trusses
  • White or very dark cabinetry
  • Wood slab table with mismatched chairs (watch only the last couple minutes or so of the video)
  • Pallet furniture
  • At least one wingback chair, preferably teal, orange or purple
  • Stainless appliances
  • Sliding barn style door into kitchen
  • White brick fireplace
  • Frame collage wall
  • Large porch
  • Attic room with slanted ceilings
  • Wainscoting
  • A master bedroom with a cozy seating area
  •  A magnificent walk-in closet
  • A Genevieve Gorder-esque master bathroom with subway tiles in the shower (again watch only the end)
  • Shag rug
  • A huge ottoman
  • A blanket ladder
  • A chevron wall
  • Delicious flowy curtains
  • Blush colored wall
  • A library—preferably with a secret room in it
  • Pretty pendant lights

There are probably a million more things I could add to this list, but I’ll stop there. If you really want to know what’s on the rest of my list, just find me on Pinterest.

Stay Kitten-y!

2 Responses to “There’s No Place Like Home”

  1. Aunt Mary December 14, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    I might be able to help. Did you see my plaid stained lid trunk? My stove top cover tray? Did a trunk for Amy & Jason too. And… soon I’ll be making a wood plank counter top for my kitchen cupboards. You would love Country Sampler magazine. Love ya

    • swarnwell December 15, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      I did see the stuff you made! It looks great! Might be hitting you up for tips sometime!

Leave a Reply

